Oh Little Town of Bethlehem

Well I didn’t go to the town of Bethlehem, but I sure did get to learn a lot about the town and people! Last night, my friends April and Kara and myself went to visit a family from Bethlehem. We have a project in our Anthropology class where we have to interview a family from a different culture and find out all there is to know about their way of life from family to social structure to economy to religion, we covered it all! The family was so hospitable and we talked and about life and how they lived in Bethlehem versus how they live here in the states. The mom made a BEAUTIFUL and wonderful cake and hot tea and when we thought we were about to be done, she brings out a family style meal allowing us to experience the family way of eating! I’m so thankful for this wonderful family and their willingness to share their lives with us for a few hours! The girls and myself were so blessed by the experience and I’m thankful to know a little bit more about where my heavenly father was born! I loved hearing how they celebrate Easter and Christmas. Our celebrations are nothing compared to theirs and they keep Christ in their celebrations 100%. Though their lifestyle may be different, we share the same Father and that’s what unifies us and I’m so thankful for that! Yay for a wonderful time of fellowship and learning! 🙂

Leave a comment